Sorry seems to be the hardest word

I thought this post from Dr. Malcolm Kendrick was interesting and so are many of the comments that are on his blog. My comments are:

Unfortunately, the DGAC’s idea of low carb is less than 45 percent so the trend of metabolic syndrome will not be reversing soon. The USDA’s MyPlate Facebook page will continue recommending that just a little sugar be sprinkled on those whole grain pancakes. There won’t be any apologies. They will just keep backing out of the low fat dogma very very slowly.

Dr. Malcolm Kendrick

I think that the four words ‘I told you so’ should only be thought, and never written down. No-one likes a smart arse. But sometimes it is impossible to resist….just impossible. In this case I have failed. ‘Father forgive me, for I am weak.’ So, here goes…’I told you so.’

Some of you may be aware that the US dietary guidelines are going to be changed. For some reason it is required that the full report is suppressed for about a year. Presumably so that everyone can pile high their defences when the attacks begin. ‘I think you will find that I have always, ahem, supported these ideas.’ Cough, shuffle of papers….cough. ‘Sorry, no time to take questions.’ Exit left.

The entire report, I believe, stretches to about a bazillion pages. However, here are four of the highlights.

  • Cholesterol is to be dropped from the…

View original post 904 more words

Leave a Reply

